Asparagus, Brussels Sprouts & Red Onion

I can not take credit for this recipe.   I found it in the Sam’s Club Magazine that was sent to me as the holidays were starting.  I will place a link for the recipe at the bottom of the page.

I made this at Christmas when my in laws were visiting.  My husband and son do not like Brussels Sprouts.  So I needed a different audience in order to make this dish.  It was a hit!

2 Tbsp. butter

1/2 cup diced onions

1/2 cup chopped asparagus (about one inch each)

2 cups brussels sprouts (halved)

6-8 strips of pre-cooked bacon, chopped into pieces

Preparation:

On medium heat, melt butter. Add diced onions and saute until translucent.  Add remaining ingredients and cook on medium heat, stirring often,  until onions, asparagus and sprouts are slightly browned.  You will need to turn the sprouts to ensure they do not overcook on one side.

Yields approximately 2-3 servings

My Notes:

  • I do not cut or chop my asparagus.  I snap my asparagus.  Here is a link on how to trim your asparagus.
  • I did not follow the recipe to the letter regarding amounts of food.  I bought fresh brussels sprouts and asparagus and just eyed how much was enough.  It is an easy enough recipe you can do this if you are experienced.

Here is the link to Sam’s Club Meals.

Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

