Sick…sick…sick

Well it appears to be that time of year for me again. The hustle and bustle of the holidays are over. I let my guard down and BOOM! Maybe COUGH …SNIFFLE …ACHOO are better words to describe the sounds of my home!  I did the same thing last January. Unfortunately it lasted until February!

My husband had been sick before the holidays. He started his vacation with a pretty bad cold. This from the man who never gets sick. I continued to take my vitamins, drink my water and avoid the germs. He was doing better by the time our company arrived.

Our company included my mother in law, sister in law, her husband and 6 month old baby girl. I could not wait to get my hands on the baby. Who smiled and cooed from her car seat. I let everyone else unload the car while I helped her escape from her car seat. What do I get for my good deed of offering her freedom from the seat she had been in for the last 8 hours? She promptly coughed…then sneezed all over me! :::sigh::: Still I did not get sick.

Then everyone leaves. We get in our truck to drive 6 hours to our friends. They live on 400 acres in the Panhandle of Florida. We get there in time for a wonderful dinner, a couple drinks before we head to the hotel for some rest. I wake up the next morning feeling like someone had run over me while I slept! My voice was raspy, my throat felt like I had swallowed a cactus (at least what I think it would feel like if one swallowed a cactus!), I could not breath and I had a cough.

I am still pretty miserable. The whole not being able to breathe through my nose is becoming an issue. I am hoping another day of medicine and rest will get be back to some kind of normal. Whatever that might be!

Leave a Reply

