Thanksgiving Prep

Today I plan on doing some cooking.   There will just be the three of us tomorrow.  Just the way we like it.  Because at Christmas there will be an entire houseful with no room at the Inn and an overlap of families coming to visit!  So Thanksgiving gives us a holiday we can just be together.  Our son works retail so he needs the down time before his schedule explodes.  It explodes at 10:00 p.m. on Thanksgiving night which does not make this Mother happy.  It is bad enough for people to have to go in at 2 or 3 in the morning to open early on Black Friday.  The fact they are crowding in on Thanksgiving is wrong!

With it just being the three of us I am not going over board with the food.  We got a turkey breast from our local butcher.  It is right around 6 pounds.  Enough for dinner with left overs.  My son will do the turkey and I will do the sides.  I think today I will go ahead and make the dressing.  Get the pearl onions ready for the peas.  Maybe mix up some apple salad.

I will try and remember pictures as we cook.  I am curious as to how the raspberry sauce will turn out.  Since my son is doing the turkey it is his decision as to how it gets seasoned.  He is one of the pickiest eaters I know.  However as an adult he has started playing around with spices and loves them!

 

Thanksgiving Menu

Turkey breast with a chipolata seasoning and a raspberry sauce

Dressing

Mashed Potatoes

Creamed Peas and Pearl Onions

Glazed Butternut Squash and/or Carrots

Apple Salad (not a holiday for me without Apple Salad)

Dinner Rolls

 

Leave a Reply

