Life Changing

On October 31, 1991 my life changed forever.  My then 7 year old son and I were in a one car accident.  We were rushing home to get him ready to go trick or treating.  A deer jumped out of the woods.  I did exactly what you are not supposed to do and jerked the wheel to avoid him.  I will never forget what an extremely odd view and feeling it was as the horizon changed as my car started to flip over.  We slid on the drivers side door for what seemed miles, probably only 125 yards, before the front of my car came to an abrupt stop between two very large trees.

We thankfully walked away from the accident.  Our car did not!  As they were hooking my car up to a tow truck my son was changing into his Halloween costume in the back seat of my Mother’s car.  Halloween is an important night for a 7 year old!  A neighbor offered to take him around with his kids while I stayed home.  As the evening progressed I realized I was not feeling as well as I thought.  We did eventually go to the ER.  My son had a seat belt burn.  As it turned out my injuries were a bit more serious.

Of course we did not find out just how serious for another two years!  I will spare you the two years of test after test, physical therapy several times a week and the unbelievable pain!  All the while losing more function each day.  By the time I found a doctor that had a clue I had lost 80 to 85% use of my left arm, hand and shoulder.  I was diagnosed with a traumatic brachial plexus injury.  At this point the damage was permanent.  I have had several surgeries, the most recent was July 2012, to make things a little more tolerable but for the most part what is done is done.  The doctors were very honest when they told me that their goal was to give me more good days then bad.  They stressed that there would always be bad ones.  They were correct! 🙂

The seat belt caused my injury BUT it saved my life.  I am fine with that trade off!  Today I celebrate the 21st Anniversary of my car accident/injury.  Yes, celebrate because I am thankful to be here to celebrate such a life changing event!

Leave a Reply

